Untitled Page
DWA Home Page  
Untitled Page


What does the Water Tribunal do?

The Water Tribunal was established in 1998 to hear appeals against directives and decisions made by responsible authorities, catchment management agencies or water management agencies about matters covered by the National Water Act, Act 36 of 1998, like the issuing of licenses to use water. It is an independent body and can hold hearings anywhere in the country.

Who are the members?

The Water Research Commission and the Judicial Services Commission recommend people to be members of the Tribunal, and the Minister of Water and Sanitation appoints them. The members have to know about water management, engineering, law and other related matters, and they are given administrative support by the Department of Water and Sanitation.

Tribunal Members

The Water Tribunal comprises six part-time members:


Adv TAN Makhubele SC

Deputy Chairperson:

Ms Lindelwa Mbanjwa

Additional Members:

Mr Ferdi Zondagh
Mrs Maleho Nkomo
Prof Tumai Murombo
Mr Pumezo Jonas


Mr Robert Ernest Nkole Mabe

Tribunal Staff:

The Water Tribunal comprises one administrative support staff:

Mr Robert Ernest Nkole Mabe - Water Tribunal Registrar
Tel: +27 12 336 7034
E-mail: maber@dws.gov.za

Untitled Document
This site is best viewed with Internet Explorer 10 (or newer) and Mozilla Firefox 32.0 (or newer) at 1024x768 screen resolution.Click here to download Internet Explorer 11 or click here to download Firefox 32.
DWS Sitemap
If you experience any challenges regarding this site, please contact the Webmaster.