Untitled Page
DWA Home Page  
 
Untitled Page

STEERING COMMITTEE

The Reconciliation Strategy for the Crocodile West Water Supply System was developed to assure that enough water will always be available to meet the growing needs of the water users in the catchment, making provision for the ecological Reserve and augment neighbouring areas, such as Lephalale. The original Crocodile West Reconciliation Strategy recommended a Strategy Steering Committee (SSC) to be established with a clearly defined mandate and scope of work with the monitoring and implementation functions. It is shown in the figure below, which summarises the relationships and functions required to implement the Reconciliation Strategy. For the SSC to achieve its mandate, support is required in the form of a Support Group (SG) and a Professional Services Provider (PSP).

 

 

A Strategy Steering Committee was formed in September 2010 as part of this study. This Committee has representatives from all provincial government departments involved in water resources management, organized agriculture, relevant District and Local Municipalities, Water Boards, Eskom as well as the DWS Regional and National Offices. The SSC actively monitors implementation of the strategy by all role-players. During the execution of the study the members of the SSC were expanded as suggested and agreed by other members on the committee.

The latest organisations and members represented at the SSC are listed below.

 

Organisation  Member Department/
Division/
Directorate
Telephone  e-mail address
Agri NW/SA Daan van der Merwe   083 453 9706 maswela@absamail.co.za
Agri SA North West Boeta du Toit Chief Executive Officer 018 632 2987 agrinw@lantic.net
Agri-SA Gauteng Dirk Hanekom Manager 012 643 3436 dirk@agrisa.co.za
BKS (Pty) Ltd Johan Rossouw   012 421 3594 johanr@bks.co.za
BKS (Pty) Ltd Jonathan Schroder   012 421 3533 jonathansc@bks.co.za
Bojanala Platinum District Municipality Geetesh Daya   014 590 4603 greeteshd@bojanala.gov.za
Chamber of Mines Stephinah Mudau Environmental Advisor 011 498 7274 smudau@bullion.org.za
City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality Philip van der Walt Consulting Engineer & Project Manager: Water and Sanitation Planning 012 358 0753 philipvdwa@tshwane.gov.za
City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality Lourens Lotter Manager: Water Distribution 012 358 7834 lotterl@tshwane.gov.za
City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality Victor Chewe Deputy Director: Public Works & Infrastructure-Water and Sanitation Division 012 358 7672 Victorc@tshwane.gov.za
Crocodile West Irrigation Board Roland van Tonder Chairperson 014 785 0600 roland@alliedgroup.co.za
Dept of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Puleng Mofokeng Deputy Director General: Water Use and Irrigation Development 012 846 8564 Pa.dwuid@daff.gov.za
Dept of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Mary-Jean Gabriel Water Use & Irrigation 012 846-8567 dwuid@daff.gov.za
Dept of Economic Development, Environment and Tourism Greg Knill General Manager: Environmental Trade and Protection 015 298 7086 knillg@finptb.norprov.gov.za
Dept of Mineral Resources Lebeau Labuschagne      
Dept of Tourism Palesa Kadi   012 310 3235 pkadi@tourism.co.za
Dept of Tourism and Economic Affairs Nomazizi Mdi General Manager: Environmental 051 400 4812 mdin@dteea.fs.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Tendani Nditwani National Water Resource Planning 012 336 8189 NditwaniT@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Bernie Badenhorst Chief Engineer: Planning and Development Regional Office Limpopo 015 290 1218 BadenhorstB@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Lerato Bapela   012 336 8189 bapelal@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Rens Botha Chief Engineer 012 392 1308 BothaR@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Allison Hernandez-Maldonaldo Personal Assistant to Chief Director 015 290-1215 hernandezmaldonaldoa@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Martha Komape Director: Water Regulation and Use 015 295 1463 komapem@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Given Maebela   012 336 8174 moabelok@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Smangele Mgquba Director: Climate Change 012 336-7183 mgqubas@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Thapelo Machaba Assistant Director 013 932 2061 MachabaT@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Lebo Mosoa Assistant Director: WRPS 012 336 7564 mosoal@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Paul Herbst Directorate: Waste Discharge and 012 336 7043 herbstp@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Seef Rademeyer Chief Engineer: National Water Resource Planning 012 336 8358 RademeyerS@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Hennie Smit Chief Director: Gauteng 012 392 1303 smith@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Ockie van den Berg Chief Engineer: Options Analysis (North) 012 336 8613 VandenBergO@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Francois van der Merwe Acting Director: Water Abstraction and In-stream Use Directorate 012 336 8245 Francois@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Sanet van Jaarsveld Engineer: Option Analysis 012 336 7284 vanjaarsveld@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Peter van Niekerk Water Resource Engineering Expert 012 336 8762 niekerk@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Johan van Rooyen Director: National Water Resource Planning 012 336 8814 VanRooyenJ@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Celiwe Ntuli Directorate: WRPS 012 336 7618 ntulic@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Wendy Ralekoa   018 387 9500  
Dept of Water and Sanitation Fred van Zyl Director: Water Services Planning and Information 012 336 8812 VanZylF@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Petrus Venter Deputy Director: Water RM-Hartebeespoort Dam 012 253 1026 Venterp@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Witold Jezewski National Water Resource Planning 012 336 8160 jezewskiw@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Tsholofelo Mbotho   012 336 8923 mbothot@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Pieter Viljoen WRPS 012 336 7514 viljoenp@dwa.co.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Regina Kganyago   015 290 1200 kganyagor@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Marie Brisley Chief Director 018 387-9500 Brisleym@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Alson Matukane Chief Director: Northern Cluster 015 290 1215 matukanea@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Rexson Mtileni   015 290 1334 mtilenir@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Beason Mwaka WRPS 012 336 8188 mwakab@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Rodney Mathebe   015 290 1200 matheber@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Barbara Weston Deputy Director: RDM 012 336 8221 WestonB@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Neo Thulo   018 387 9543 thulon@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Peter Pyke Chief Engineer: Options Analysis 012 336 8192 PykeP@dwa.gov.za
Dept of Water and Sanitation Dragana Ristic National Water Resource Planning 012 336 8302 risticd@dwa.gov.za
Eskom Ian Midgley   011 800 2051 Ian.midgley@eskom.co.za
Golder Associates Africa (Pty) Ltd Trevor Coleman   011 254 4882 tcoleman@golder.co.za
Johannesburg Water Mbali Matiwane Physical Losses (Unaccounted For Water) Operations Department 011 688 1422 Mbalie.matiwane@jwater.co.za
JV Masibambani Support Derek Hazelton Manager 011 640 6543 tsewater@icon.co.za
Lephalale Municipality Simon Nkoe   014 762 1464 Simon.nkoe@lephalale.gov.za
Limpopo Dept of Agriculture Pieter de Witt   015 294-3367 dewittp@agric.limpopo.gov.za
Lonmin Platinum Mines Karen Chetty   014 571 2139 Karen.chetty@lonmin.com
Lonmin Platinum Mines Fanie Botha   082 903 4214 stelpos@mweb.co.za
Madibeng Local Municipality Gustav de Villiers   012 318 9386 gustavdevilliers@madibeng.gov.za
Magalies Water Board Roelf le Roux General Manager: Projects 014 5974636 roelfl@magalieswater.co.za
Makoppa Irrigation Board George Fritz Chairperson 083 469 3777 gfritz@lantic.net
Makoppa Irrigation Board Izak Joubert      
Sasol Farai Chamisa   011 344 2822 farai.chamisa@sasol.com
Sasol Synfuels Andries Meyer Senior Manager:Sustainable Water Sasol new Energy 017 610 4750 andries.meyer@sasol.com
Transvaalse Landbou Unie Jan Viljoen   014 779 0706 jcviljoen@worldonline.co.za
Water Research Commission Wandile Nomquphu Research Manager 012 330-0340 wandilen@wrc.org.za
WRP Consulting Engineers (Pty) Ltd Pieter van Rooyen   012 346 3496 pieterv@wrp.co.za
Zitholele Consulting AndrĂ© Joubert   011 207-2077 andrej@zitholele.co.za


The terms of reference (ToR) for the Strategy Steering Committee can be found on the following link:

SSC1 5 SSC ToR


Strategy Steering Committee Meetings

Four SSC Meetings were held. The minutes of the meetings as well the Presentations presented at these meetings can be found at the links below. The number after SSC number refers to the point on the agenda.


Strategy Steering Committee Meeting No 4: 25 July 2012

Documents of SSC4

SSC4 Media Release in the process of being finalised

 

Presentations at SSC4


Minutes of SSC4

In the process of being finalised

 

Status Report of SSC4

In the process of being finalised


Strategy Steering Committee Meeting No 3: 29 September 2011

Documents of SSC3

SSC3 Media Release October 2011

 

Presentations at SSC3

 

Minutes of SSC3

SSC3 Minutes 20110929

 

Progress Report of SSC3

SSC3 Progress Report


Strategy Steering Committee Meeting No 2: 24 February 2011

Documents of SSC2

SSC2 Attendance register

SSC2 Media Release


Presentations at SSC2


Minutes of SSC2

SSC 2 Minutes 20110224

 

Progress Report of SSC2

SSC2 Progress Report


Strategy Steering Committee Meeting No 1: 29 July 2010

Documents of SSC1


Presentations at SSC1


Minutes of SSC1

SSC 1 Minutes 20100729

 

Progress Report of SSC1

SSC 1 Progress Report

 

Untitled Document
This site is best viewed with Internet Explorer 7.0 (or newer) and Mozilla Firefox 32.0 (or newer) at 1024x768 screen resolution.Click here to download Internet Explorer 7 or click here to download Firefox 32.
DWS Sitemap
If you experience any challenges regarding this site, please contact the Webmaster.