Untitled Page
DWA Home Page  
Untitled Page


The Department of Water and Sanitation and the AMD feasibility study team sincerely thank the representatives of the organisations and departments listed below for their contributions to the Feasibility Study for a long-term solution to address the AMD associated with the East, Central and West Rand underground mining basins.

The firms comprising the Professional Services Provider (PSP) team for this study were:

  • Aurecon South Africa (Pty) Ltd;

  • SRK Consulting (South Africa) (Pty) Ltd;

  • Turner & Townsend (Pty) Ltd;

  • Shango Solutions;

  • Ledwaba Mazwai Attorneys;

  • IGNIS Project & Finance Solutions (Pty) Ltd;

  • Kayamandi Development Services (Pty) Ltd;

  • Thompson & Thompson Consulting Engineers and Legal Services; and

  • Shepstone & Wylie Attorneys

Several independent consultants were also members of the PSP team.

Contributions to the study from the individuals and organizations listed below, were received not only in the form of information (reports and data) but also in the form of comments and inputs provided at various technical workshops, forum meetings, one-on-one meetings and study stakeholder meetings.

The list below represents all contributions received up to July 2013.



Academic Institutions
North West University (NWU)
Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)
University of Johannesburg (UJ)
University of Pretoria (UP)
University of the Witwatersrand (Wits)
Funding Organizations 
Structured Credit & Finance Solutions Ltd UK & Strategic Int Resources RSA
Environmental and Conservation Groups 
BirdLife South Africa
Endangered Wildlife Trust
Mpumalanga Lakes District Protective Group (MLDPG)
National Association of Conservancies (NACSA) and Gauteng Conservancy Association (GCA)
Rhenosterspruit Nature Conservancy & Just Environmental Action
Wildlife and Environment Society of South Africa (WESSA)
Yellow Fish Working Group (FOSAF)
Independent Individuals in Private Capacity 
Independent researchers
Technical commentators
Various affected landowners
Institutions, Parastatals and Research Facilities 
Commonwealth Scientific Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
Council for Geoscience (CGS)
Highveld Biological Association
South African Human Rights Commission (SAHRC)
South African Nuclear Energy corporation(NECSA)
South African Sugarcane Research Institute (SASRI)
Trans-Caledon Tunnel Authority (TCTA)
Water Research Commission (WRC)
Local, Provincial and National Government 
City of Johannesburg (CoJ)
Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA)
Department of Mineral Resources (DMR)
Department of Science and Technology (DST)
Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality
Gauteng Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (GDARD)
Gauteng Department of Local Government and Housing (GDLGH)
Mogale City Local Municipality
National Treasury
National Planning Commission
Randfontein Local Municipality
Sedibeng Local Municipality
South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (NECSA)
South African Local Government Association (SALGA)
West Rand District Municipality
Mining Sector 
Chamber of Mines
Non-Governmental Organisations 
Affected Community Elected Representatives (Acer) & JMEEF
Earthlife Africa
EcoMonitor cc
Energy Caucus
Federation for a Sustainable Environment (FSE)
Lawyers for Human Rights
Legal Resources Centre
Public Environmental Arbiters
Save the Vaal
Stop Mining in Magaliesburg Action Group (SMMAG)
Vaal Environmental Justice Forum
Centre for Environmental Rights
Vaal Catchment Forums 
Vaal Dam Forum
Waterval Catchment Forum
Wonderfonteinspruit, Loopspruit Catchment Forum
Grootdraai Dam Forum
Blesbokspruit and Suikerbosrand Catchment Forum
Skoon-Koekemoerspruit Forum
Organised Agriculture 
Agri Gauteng
Agricultural Research Council (ARC)
Transvaal Agricultural Union SA
Organised Business, Industry and Labour 
National Economic Development and Labour Council (Nedlac)
Sasol Infrachem
Sedibeng United Business Forum
Other Specialist Fields/Consultants 
Touchstone Resources
Kaleo Consulting
Emifula Riverine and Wetlands Remedial Consultants and Associates
Rossouw and Associates
Tourism and Recreation 
Gold Reef City
Krugersdorp Nature Reserve
Rowing South Africa & Water Sports Facility Task Group
Stonehaven on Vaal, Emfuleni Tourism Association & Sedibeng Interim RTO
Sun International
Sun City (Source to Sea Programme)
Utilities/Water Service Providers 
East Rand Water Care Company (ERWAT)
Johannesburg Water
Rand Water

In addition to those listed above, the department and study team sincerely thank the:

  • WISA Mine Water Division, a division of the Water Institute of Southern Africa, who identified and funded independent external experts to peer review the pre-feasibility phase reports. The comments and suggestions by the following experts contributed significantly to the quality of the study: Achim Wurster (Private Consultant), Ingrid Dennis (North-West University), AndrĂ© van Niekerk (Golder and Associates) and Phil Hobbs (CSIR).

  • The World Bank, for the provision of their international expertise on a number of the reports in the Feasibility Study as well as for funding the appointment of independent external experts to peer review selected key reports from the pre-feasibility study. The comments and suggestions by the following experts contributed significantly to the quality of the study: Marcus Wishart, David Sislen, Manuel Marino, Joel Kolker, Wolfhart Pohl (World Bank); Christian Wolkersdorfer (International Mine Water Association) and Peter Camden-Smith (Camden Geoserve).

  • Persons and organisations that provided considerable data and inputs for assessment and consideration, including, but not limited to, Mariette Lieferink (Federation for a Sustainable Environment), Melissa Fourie (Centre for Environmental Rights), Elizabeth van der Merwe (Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality), Rina Taviv (Gauteng Department of Agriculture and Rural Development), Professor Leslie Stoch (private capacity), Meiring du Plessis (private capacity), John Annandale and Michael van der Laan (University of Pretoria), Jenny Huang, Bop Kleynjan, Lynette Baratta and Andries Meyer (Sasol), Henry Roman, Mahlori Mashimbye, Shanna Nienaber (DST) and Jo Burgess (WRC).

  • Technology providers that offered information on their technology through response to the Request for Information (RfI) or through interaction with the Project Team.

  • Members of the Study Administration and Management Committees as well as the Project Executive Committee (PEC), Intergovernmental Task Team on AMD (IGTT) and Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) on AMD for their inputs, support and guidance.


Untitled Document
This site is best viewed with Internet Explorer 10 (or newer) and Mozilla Firefox 32.0 (or newer) at 1024x768 screen resolution.Click here to download Internet Explorer 11 or click here to download Firefox 32.
DWS Sitemap
If you experience any challenges regarding this site, please contact the Webmaster.